Guiding Development with the Agile Testing Quadrants

Most IT-organizations nowadays are working in an Agile or DevOps way. Or busy transitioning towards Agile and DevOps. Often they struggle with how to organize testing in their new organization. In this blog, Sogetilabs expert Rik Marselis will give you an overview of how the well-known model of Agile Testing Quadrants can be used.

In 2003 Brian Marick introduced the Agile Testing Quadrants. A very useful model to pair different testing varieties with various perspectives of the IT-activities in an Agile development model. (read his original article here)

The picture below shows the original model of Brian Marick. It consists of four quadrants:

  • Quadrant 1 (left-below) is all about testing the components that an IT-system consists of.
  • Quadrant 2 (left-upper) is about testing the system as a whole and its connection with business processes and other systems.
  • Quadrant 3 (right-upper) is about the quality in use, can users actually reach their goal.
  • Quadrant 4 (right-below) is about the technical perspectives that most can only be tested when the system is ready (e.g. performance).

Read the entire blog post and interact with Rik on SogetiLabs website.

  • Rik Marselis
    Rik Marselis
    Quality and Testing Consultant | Netherlands
    +31 886 606 600